HOME  |  ABOUT US TOURS HOTELS   CONTACT US

 

 
BASILICA OF ST. JOHN

St. John's grave was marked by a memorial and enclosed by a church of modest proportions in the 4th century. In the 6th century, Emperor Justinian (527-565 AD) believed that a tomb dating from the 300s was John's, so he built a magnificient church on the site in the 500s dedicated to the saint.

The traditional tomb of St. John, located under the main central dome, elevated the site to one of the most sacred sites in the Middle Ages and thousands made pilgrimage here.

But with the decline in importance of Ephesus and after Arab raids, the basilica fell into ruins until the Seljuk Aydinoglu clan converted it into a mosque in 1330. The building was then completely destroyed in 1402 by Tamerlane's Mongol army.
information about st.john basilica
The ruined church was thereafter pillaged for building materials, but recent restoration enables visitors to understand its size and visualize its former splendor
 
Information on Ephesus Information on Pergamum Information in Priene
Information on Miletus Information on Didyma Information on Temple of Artemis
Information on Ephesus Museum Information on The Basilica of St.John Information on House of Mother Marry
Information on Sirince Village        
 

 © Ephesus Hotels Tours  belongs  Jasminne Tour  Company. All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions
    Tel: (+90)-212-638 0276 Fax: (+90)-212 - 638 0283 Mobile: (+90)-533 241 0592
    Email : info@ephesushotelstours.com 

 



Association of Turkish Travel Agencies
License number: 4614